So fed up with my new Smart

New to the Smart #1 Forums? Introduce yourself here
Sofedupwithit

Post by Sofedupwithit »

My feelings are the same as Cheshire Cat's. We too have a Kia E-Niro but luckily still have it. The E-Niro works very well. There are so many annoying things about the Smart #1 that at the moment I would just like to get rid of it. For example:

1. we were concerned that accessing lots of menus and sub-menus while driving as it didn't seem safe but were told that in practice we would control them using voice control. However whenever I ask the little dog to do something 90% of the time she replies "I am still learning this" She sees to know very little at all.
2. the regenerative function on the Smart is much less smooth than the Kia. If I reduce the pressure very slightly on the pedal it creates a disconcerting lurching feeling - weirdly it seems less smooth than taking my foot off the accelerator all-together
3.the passenger door handle doesn't slot back in when the weather is cold and won't then set off unless you push the handle back in from the outside
4 and the range - the Kia E-Niro has a range that is as "described on the tin". The Smart is supposed to offer "up to 273 miles" but in reality it offers a lot less than 200 miles

Then there are all the minor irritants - eg the delay before you can do things like switch profiles while the system boots up. We have two drivers of very different heights - when the shorter one gets in and the system finally wakes up they can't reach the screen easily to change profiles and of course voice control hasn't learnt how to do that yet (wonder if it ever will).

I so want to love this car (not least having spent so much hard earned cash on it!) but I don't

Anyone else have similar experiences to these?

StephenA

Post by StephenA »

There is a lot of chat about most of your issues in the other threads.